Allison Marlow Paterson is an Australian Author who writes stories for children and adults.

Allison’s writing reflects her passion for the past. In addition to creating books for adults and picture books about growing up on the farm, she is the author of the ABIA and CBCA notable title Anzac Sons: Five Brothers on the Western Front.

Her 2018 release Australia Remembers: Anzac Day, Remembrance Day and War Memorials heralded a new non-fiction series, with the next – Customs and Traditions of the Australian Defence Force – arriving in 2021. Allison’s first novel for young adults – Follow After Me – was created while undertaking a May Gibbs Children’s Literature Trust Fellowship.

The Sunshine Coast is where Allison enjoys life as a writer, presenter and publishing consultant.

New Releases

by Allison Marlow Paterson


Australia Remembers: Customs and Traditions of the Australian Defence Force provides a detailed explanation of the origins of the many colourful customs and traditions visible on these important occasions. It explores the symbolism and the significance of such rituals in the lives of those Australians who have fought for their country and those who keep us safe today.


Australia Remembers presents a detailed explanation of the origins and traditions of Anzac Day and Remembrance Day, exploring both their connections and significance to young Australians today.

Coming Soon


The little wooden boat has been left behind in the sand dunes. Odd things pass it by, tumbling and floating into the ocean –

a chip packet, a takeaway cup and a plastic bag.

The little wooden boat wonders and worries . . .

Is it a forgotten thing? Is it just rubbish now?

Will it ever find a home again?

A powerful and timely tale of the small steps

we can take to care for our world.

Get in Touch

If you’d like to get in touch with Allison directly, please make contact here. Allison will get back to you as soon as she can. Check the Author Talks page for information on booking speaking engagements.


7 + 14 =